Noel & Gertie (2017)

Synopsis

Matthew Townshend Productions is currently touring a superb adaptation of Sheridan Morley’s Noel and Gertie to theatres across the country.

The show, which is on tour between February and May, chronicles the legendary lifelong friendship of playwright Noel Coward and actress Gertrude Lawrence.

Featuring songs, sketches and scenes from some of Coward’s best works, it pays tribute to two of the best-loved performers of this century while taking a well-orchestrated trip down memory lane.

Scenes from Private Lives, Still Life and Blithe Spirit and snippets of timeless songs such as Dance Little Lady and, of course I’ll See You Again, make it a show which entrances.

The nature of the production allows for an intimate setting which encourages the audience to pick up every smirk, grimace and subtly raised eyebrow.

But the cast of just two – accompanied by a pianist – can also hold their own on a big stage.

Ben Stock and Helen Power are playing the title roles. Between them they have appeared in leading roles in musicals across the country and in the West End with credits such as Sunset Boulevard, Salad Days, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Chess, Beauty and the Beast,Thoroughly Modern Millie and Hello, Dolly to their names. Musical direction is by Steven Edis and piano accompaniment is provided by Jonathan Lee.

The mtp production, based on the original which ran for nine years in the West End, featured as part of the 75th Anniversary season of Frinton Summer Theatre 2014 and met with rave reviews.

As a result, the tour has been snapped up by theatres across the UK.

Gallery

Tour Dates

New Wimbledon Studio Theatre, London
Tuesday 28 February 2017, 19:45
Wednesday 01 March 2016, 19:45
Friday 03 March 2016, 19:45
Saturday 04 March 2016, 19:45

The Towngate Theatre, Basildon
Wednesday 08 March 2016, 14:30
Wednesday 08 March 2016, 19:30

Swindon Arts Centre, Swindon
Thursday 09 March 2017, 19:30

Trinity Theatre, Tunbridge Wells,
Friday 10 March 2017, 19:30

Beacon Arts Centre, Greenock
Wednesday 15 March 2017, 19:30

Theatre Royal, Dumfries
Thursday 16 March 2017, 19:30

Eastwood Park, Giffnock
Friday 17 March 2017, 19:30

Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Pitlochry
Saturday 18 March 2017, 19:30

Howden Park Centre, Livingston
Sunday 19 March 2017, 
14:00

Buxton Opera House and Pavilion Arts Centre, Buxton
Wednesday 22 March 2017, 19:30

Felixstowe Spa Pavilion, Felixstowe
Friday 24 March 2017, 14:30
Friday 24 March 2017, 19:30
Saturday 25 March 2017, 14:30

Wycombe Swan, High Wycombe
Sunday 26 March 2017, 15:00

The Orchard Theatre, Dartford
Tuesday 28 March 2017, 19:30

Devonshire Park Theatre, Eastbourne
Wednesday 29 March 2017, 19:45
Thursday 30 March 2017, 14:30
Thursday 30 March 2017, 19:45
Friday 31 March 2017, 19:45
Saturday 01 April 2017, 14:30
Saturday 01 April 2017, 19:45

Tivoli Wimborne Theatre, Tivoli
Wednesday 05 April 2017, 19:30

Brookside Theatre, Romford
Friday 07 April 2017, 20:00

Richmond Theatre, London
Sunday 09 April 2017, 19:30

Theatre Royal, Bury St Edmunds
Tuesday 11 April 2017, 19:30
Wednesday 12 April 2017, 19:30

Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough
Wednesday 19 April 2017, 19:45
Thursday 20 April 2017, 13:45
Thursday 20 April 2017, 19:15

Majestic Theatre, Darlington
Saturday 22 April 2017, 
19:30

Waterside Arts Centre, Sale
Wednesday 26 April 2017, 
19:30

Villa Gaiety Theatre, Isle of Man
Thursday 27 April 2017, 19:30
Friday 28 April 2017, 19:30

The Roses Theatre, Tewksbury
Sunday 30 April 2017, 15:00

Palace Theatre, Mansfield
Tuesday 02 May 2017, 19:30

The Key Theatre, Peterborough
Wednesday 03 May 2017, 19:30
Thursday 04 May 2017, 19:30

New Theatre Royal, Lincoln
Friday 02 May 2017, 19:30

Windsor Theatre Royal, Windsor
Wednesday 10 May 2017, 20:00
Thursday 11 May 2017, 14:30
Thursday 11 May 2017, 20:00
Friday 12 May 2017, 20:00
Saturday 13 May 2017, 16:45
Saturday 13 May 2017, 20:00

Buy Tickets

Tickets are no longer on sale for this production